ATV Registration In Maine 2023 (What You Need To Know)

Affiliate Disclosure:
As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases at no additional cost to you. Thank you for supporting my site.

If you don’t want to end up featured on an episode of North Woods Law on the wrong end of a citation from one of Maine’s game wardens, pay close attention.

For those planning to enjoy some off-road ATV riding in the great state of Maine, most of you will need to register your ATV so that you have a valid registration and it is legal to drive.

But there are some of you who don’t need to go through the trouble of registering and forking over the ever increasing registration fee.

This guide to ATV registration in Maine will provide you with the following info:

  • Details on where and how you can properly register your ATV in Maine
  • How to maximize the number of days your ATV is covered under registration
  • Help determining whether you ARE or ARE NOT required to register your ATV in Maine

Maine ATV Registration

In order to enjoy public off-roading areas and trails in Maine, registering your ATV just about always required.

But there are some differences in registration for residents and non-residents of Maine.

Maine Residents

For residents who have registered their ATV in Maine in the past and are just renewing, you can simply renew your registration online via the Maine Department of Inland Fisheries & Wildlife.

If you have never registered your ATV in Maine but need to for the upcoming year, you will need to complete a new registration through your local town office or through the Maine Department of Inland Fisheries & Wildlife main office in Augusta.

The new registration form can be found here, and new registrants must also provide proof of sales tax paid on their ATV.

This can be done either in person or by mail, but new registrations unfortunately do not have an option to register online for residents.


Non-residents who are renewing their registration can do so online in the same way residents can.

Non-residents who are registering for the first time are also able to complete a new registration online, unlike residents.

Non-residents can opt for a full season registration or a 7-day registration.

Antique ATV Registration

Your ATV may qualify as an “antique ATV” if it is more than 25 years old and is “substantially maintained in its original or restored condition”.

Models that would be eligible include the Polaris Sportsman 500, Polaris Magnum 425, and most 3 Wheeler ATVs.

Antique ATVs are subject to a lower registration fee, and must be registered in person or by mail through the Maine Department of Inland Fisheries & Wildlife main office in Augusta.

Maine ATV Registration Fees

The fees for registering an ATV in Maine for 2023, compared with historical fees:

2023 Fee2022 Fee2021 Fee
Non Resident (7-Day)$101$100$75
Non Resident (Full)$116$115$90

While we saw a big jump in the registration fee for 2022, they went a little easier on us this year with only a $1 hike in price.

Fingers crossed that Maine ATV registration fee inflation stays at less than 2% again in 2024.

How Long Is My ATV Covered Under Registration?

The Maine ATV registration period runs through June 30th each year, so you’ll want to be sure and take care of your registration in advance of that date.

It should be noted for new registrations that starting on May 1st of each year, registration is valid from the date of issue through June 30th of the following year.

So if you are planning to register an ATV that has never been registered in Maine before, you’ll probably want to wait until that date to do so if you can.

Maine ATV registrations are not prorated, so even if you register a new one in October, you’ll pay the full price and then need to do it all over again in May of the following year.

Maine ATV Registration Stickers

When you register or renew registration in Maine, you’ll eventually receive your permit stickers in the mail that will need to be clearly displayed on your ATV when riding.

These stickers usually arrive within 10-14 days of registering, but can take up to 30 days.

For the time in between, you’ll be given the option to print a temporary copy of your registration as proof of registration until your stickers arrive.  

You should do this and keep this copy on you whenever you ride until you get those stickers in the mail.

If you don’t have a printer, screenshot the confirmation page on your phone or take a picture of it using your phone if done on the computer.  

This should also suffice as proof of registration until you receive your stickers in the mail.

When You ARE NOT Required To Register Your ATV In Maine

Again, if you plan to ride your ATV on public trails, land, or roads, you are required to register your ATV in Maine.

For 95% of us, that means forking over the registration fees so that we don’t receive a fine from the boys in green.

But for the other 5% of ATV riders in the state, you don’t need to worry about registering your ATV in the following circumstances:

  • If you only operate your ATV on land you own or rent
  • During the designated annual free riding weekend in Maine*
  • If you are a non resident and are traveling to Maine with your ATV to ride in a special event where the organizer submits a written request to the commissioner 60 days prior to the event and receives approval for the designated trails
  • If your ATV is operated by a commercial ski area for the purpose of rescue operations or packing snow and is not required to cross a public street while operating
  • If your ATV is owned and operated by the state or federal government

*The free ATV weekend mentioned above takes place one weekend per year in Maine and designates a nonresident may operate in Maine on an ATV that is not registered in Maine if the non-resident’s ATV has a valid registration from another state or a Canadian province.

For this year, Free ATV Weekend is scheduled for August 18-20, 2023.


If you plan to hit the ATV trails in Maine, you’ll want to be sure your vehicle is properly registered before doing so.

If not and the game warden comes calling, you’re likely looking at a fine of almost double the registration fee, if not more.